Pinellas Chapter 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting

April 8, 2021 @ 6:45 pm
@ 8:30 pm

You're invited! Join the Pinellas Chapter of the ACLU of Florida for our 2021 annual meeting, board elections, and legal panel report on Thursday, April 8. 

In honor of Holocaust Remembrance Day, our keynote speaker is David Starr, a scholar and rabbi affiliated with the Tauber Institute at Brandeis University. He will talk on: “The Holocaust, Totalitarianism, and the Rule of Law.” Dr. Micah Kubic, Executive Director of the ACLU of Florida, will give an update on the ACLU's work in our state.

Thursday, April 8
6:45 - 7 p.m.: Virtual zoom check-in and Pinellas Chapter Board Introductions
7 - 8:30 p.m.: Virtual Program

Our annual dinner will return next year, but this Covid-safe event will still include a great roster of interesting speakers and awardees. Upon registration, you will receive a confirmation email with details about joining the Zoom webinar link.

Join us as we present the Gardner W. Beckett, Jr. Civil Liberties Award to Attorney Bruce Howie, who is retiring after many years of outstanding service to Pinellas County and our ACLU of Florida Pinellas Chapter Legal Panel. 

The Irene Miller Vigilance in Journalism Award will be presented to Eric Deggans, former Tampa Bay Times television critic and current NPR national media commentator. You can read more about Eric here.

This is a free event, but please register to receive the Zoom event details. 


The Nominations Committee is pleased to present the following civil libertarians who have agreed to serve you for election or reelection to two-year terms. All current members of the local chapter who participate virtually in our annual event are eligible to vote. You can view the list of nominees below:

Members standing for reelection in 2021:

  • Catherine Blackburn 
  • Stephanie Owens
  • Margaret Evans 
  • Jay Sokolovsky
  • Jeff Harper
  • Wendy Snyder
  • Patricia Weeks

Acknowledgement of ongoing members who were elected or reelected for two-year terms in 2020:

  • Ray Arsenault 
  • Nano Riley 
  • Sam Schrift
  • Maria D. Vesperi

ACLU-Pinellas Board Officers 2021:

  • Ray Arsenault, Pinellas Chapter Chair
  • Maria D. Vesperi, Vice Chair
  • Jeff Harper, Secretary
  • Margaret Evans, Treasurer
  • Catherine Blackburn, Legal Panel Chair
  • Stephanie Owens and Wendy Snyder, ACLU-FLORIDA Board Delegates

Learn more about how you can get involved with your ACLU-Pinellas Chapter at: